Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

What I’ve Learned May 4, 2012

Filed under: PRCA 3030 — rebekahkatherine @ 1:53 pm

The past semester was certainly not the norm for me. I’m used to having a lot of free time on my hands and this semester I juggled 16 hours plus an internship. I had zero free time and for the most part, it wasn’t too bad. I definitely learned a lot about time management and prioritizing my workload.

This semester started off kind of crappy with a lot of personal drama but it ended up being one of my favorite semesters ever. I got to really concentrate on myself and I had the best time. I made so many new friends and I really cherished my weekends since I got no sleep during the week.

I also stayed really busy. I was constantly doing a work function and twice this semester, I had three tests in one day followed by a major work event. I learned a lot at my internship about becoming more detail-oriented and how to be a better writer. I also learned a lot about what  I want out of a first job when I leave this place.

This semester has been wonderful and I’ve enjoyed getting to hang out with my best friends for a few more months before we all go off into the real world. It’s hard to believe I’m graduating. I feel like just yesterday my parents were helping me move into Eagle Village. It seems so surreal that a week from tomorrow, I’ll be wearing a cap and gown. I’ve loved my time here at Georgia Southern but I’m excited, anxious, and nervous about the next chapter. I hope it’s as much fun as this one has been!

 

One Response to “What I’ve Learned”

  1. dchesh Says:

    I think my friends are what I’m going to miss the most in the real world. We’re all splitting up and going our separate ways (all over the country), while some are staying in school. Hopefully we all stay in touch, and get to work together some day 🙂


Leave a Reply

