Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

Valentine’s Day February 15, 2012

Filed under: PRCA 3030 — rebekahkatherine @ 10:31 am

I’ve always been pretty apathetic about Valentine’s Day, even last year when I had a special someone on this day. I’ve always felt that if you loved someone, you should let them know every single day of the year, not just when the calendar says February 14. On Valentine’s Day, I always just like to tell my friends and family how much I love them.

Some of the best gifts I’ve gotten for Valentine’s Day include candy and chocolate from my parents, who give me a present every year. I’ve also gotten little gifts from friends, and this year, I cooked dinner with friends and watched movies. When I was in elementary school, I loved Valentine’s Day because everyone got something and everyone got along for at least that day. I’ve never really received a so-called “bad gift” for Valentine’s Day. Since I never expect anything anyway, anyone giving me something as simple as a Valentine card makes me happy.

I’ve never really told anyone before that I didn’t like their gift. I’d never want to seem ungrateful. Especially on a holiday like Valentine’s Day, where if you’re single, gifts aren’t required, I’d just be happy to receive something at all.

If I worked in the Valentine’s Day industry, I would utilize social media to encourage potential customers to buy my product. Talking up Valentine’s Day on Facebook and Twitter or giving tips on how to make this Valentine’s Day extra special (by buying my product of course!), would be tactics that I would use.

 

3 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. ryanmatherly Says:

    I agree. If you’re dating someone, it doesn’t really amtter what day it is. You should not have to pick and choose what days to make someone feel good about your relationship.

  2. AshleySalim Says:

    You took the words out of my mouth! I don’t think you can give/get a bad gift (although others may prove me wrong). I never expect anything, so I’m grateful for anything I receive. I say, make the best out of every situation!


Leave a Reply

