Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

Books vs. Movies February 1, 2012

Filed under: PRCA 3030 — rebekahkatherine @ 2:42 pm

I’m an avid reader and I typically am very protective of the characters in a story and always feel like the movie versions of books I love never do it justice. For the most part, I try to read the book before I see the movie but sometimes, that isn’t always the case. There have been several books I’ve read because I loved the movie and wanted to compare. Three that come to mind in this case are Atonement by Ian McEwan, Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, and The Help by Kathryn Stockett, which I’m currently reading. I loved the books better for both Atonement and Gone with the Wind.

Most of the time I try to read the book first, like the Harry Potter Series or The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy. The movie for The Prince of Tides is terrible, by the way. It completely deviates from the book. I always find that the books are better than the movies. I feel that movies leave out important plot points, or don’t develop some characters enough and that reading the books would give the audience a better understanding of the story. In high school,  we always watched the movie version of a book after we were done reading it for the class, and I always found the books to be better than the movies.

I always try to read the books and watch the movies, particularly if it’s a story I really like. However, I’ve never found an instance where I thought the movie was better than the book. When I read a book, I can picture the character in my head and when I see a screen adaptation, it’s always different than what I have imagined for the story.

My favorite book to movie adaptations are The Harry Potter series, particularly the two films for the last book, Gone with the Wind, and the 2006 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice.

 

6 Responses to “Books vs. Movies”

  1. dchesh Says:

    Totally agree about the Potter series. I said my favorite adaptation was the Godfather, but Harry Potter is a close second place, especially the last book (last two movies). As girly as they may be, mucho respecto for the Pride and Prejudice book and movie. I might have been forced to read/watch them in high school, but they were at least enjoyable.

  2. […] https://rebekahkatherine.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/books-vs-movies/#comment-53 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Comments RSS feed […]

  3. marleymizell Says:

    I’m going to start The Help next!! Gone with the Wind is a wonderful book. A lot better than the movie.

  4. PRbetty Says:

    I have not read The Help. I have however, watched the movie and really enjoyed it. What I have read from bloggers across the web that read the book and movie that the movie portrayed the book very well. You will have to let me know if this is true.


Leave a Reply

