Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

Blog Comments November 30, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3330 — rebekahkatherine @ 10:28 pm

Rebekahkatherine
October 20th, 2010 at 03:30

My favorite part was the jobs/internships tab too!!!! What a neat way for PR students to network and make connections!

‘ class=”avatar avatar-48 grav-hashed grav-hijack” v:shapes=”_x0000_i1026″>

Rebekahkatherine
October 20th, 2010 at 03:29

I loved this article. I never realized how annoying these phrases are and I say some of them all the time. Bad habits can sometimes be hard to break but these phrases are definite no-nos.

rebekahkatherineOctober 7, 2010 at 2:56 am #

I definitely agree that alienating men from the breast cancer awareness conversation is a bad thing. When a woman is diagnosed with breast cancer, it affects everyone around her, including sons, brothers, and husbands. While the purse thing on Facebook is a great way to raise awareness, I agree that men should be in on the fun too.

rebekahkatherineOctober 20, 2010 at 3:27 am #

I definitely think the reason your blog gets so much traffic is that you put each post on both your Facebook and Twitter so that everyone can read them. It’s a wonderful idea. Also, your blog is much more interesting than other blogs I read. I looked at my site stats the other day and they pale in comparison to yours. Looking at your blog has made me see how I can improve mine and get as much traffic as you do.

rebekahkatherineSeptember 1, 2010 at 2:11 am #

You are by far one of the best bloggers I know, and I’m not just saying that because I know you personally. I really loved looking at your blog while you were abroad. Not only did I learn alot, but I got to keep up with your travels.
I was hesitant to check out Twitter too because I thought it was just a ripoff of Facebook but now I’m obsessed.
Also, Xanga was awesome back in the day!

I love that the Dashboard section of WordPress let’s us see our site stats!!!!! On websites like Facebook and Twitter, I am always curious to know who actually looks at my profile and sees what I write but on WordPress I’m never curious because they tell me exactly when people look at my page.
Having the luxury of being able to see site stats is wonderful for PR blogs because it allows them to see what posts people respond to and helps PR professionals see what the public likes. If there’s a lot of traffic for one post, then the public is obviously opinionated one way or another about it. If in one blog post, the author suggests a new campaign for the company and it doesn’t have a lot of views or response, then its a good indicator that maybe they should scrap that campaign and do something else that would illicit more response.
I definitely think site stats are useful for blogs, not only for this class but for PR professionals as well.

I agree that journalists sometimes are annoyed by PR professionals and they see them as annoying. The best way for PR professionals to work well with journalists is to be familiar with AP style and the parameters in which they work and be familiar with what they are trying to promote. I love the quote at the end. Excellent post!

rebekahkatherineDecember 1, 2010 at 3:27 am #

A wonderful post for anyone who wants to blog. I love that the title has the word tot in it haha. I agree with all these suggestions as ways to make us better bloggers. If a blog is easy and fun to read its going to generate a better viewership than a blog that’s boring and monotonous.

 

Leave a Reply

