Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

Podcasting 101 November 29, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3330 — rebekahkatherine @ 11:07 pm
Tags:

I’ll admit that I’d never listened to a podcast before this class. I’m very tech savvy and I always jump on any social media bandwagon, but I’d never bothered to listen to a podcast and I really have no idea why. But after listening to the one I did for this post, I want to listen to so many more. The one I listened to was the one for Wednesday, November 10 at http://www.insidepr.ca/and the three speakers talked about something that is so important for PR students. Their topic was what they would do differently in their careers if they had the chance. One of the speakers, Joe, talked about not having any regrets in his career choices. I’m pretty sure that’s something every person would love to say about their career, but I doubt many people can say that. Gini said that she wished she’d taken advantage of all the resourceful people around her, not just people who could help her at her current job, but people she could learn from for future endeavors.

However, the most important thing I think was said during the podcast was by Joe, who said that young people in their early twenties should take advantage of the mobility they have to move to cities to cater to their careers which is so true. When I’m in my twenties, before I get married and have a family, I know I’ll be able to live in whatever city I need to and work long hours without feeling indebted to anyone else. When I get older and have a family, that might not be so easy. That was the biggest thing I took away from this podcast.

Another cool thing about this podcast was that Victoria Evans and Mrs. Nixon were both mentioned. The speakers mentioned Victoria at the beginning of the show as a PR student who listened to this podcast. Victoria is my roommate and best friend so it was cool to see her and the professor mentioned. It was total coincidence that I chose this podcast but I’m glad I did because I got to tell Victoria that she was mentioned.

 

Leave a Reply

