Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

A picture is worth a thousand words August 31, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3330 — rebekahkatherine @ 10:22 pm
Tags:

Everyone has heard the title phrase many times throughout their life because it’s true. Most people would rather look at a picture than read a bunch of words. The same can be said when it comes to blogging. Pictures make a blog look more appealing and capture’s the reader’s attention in a way that words just can’t.
One of my favorite websites to go on is prdaily.com and while I was going through the site earlier today, I found this blog by Scott Monty at scottmonty.com. Monty is the head of social media for the Ford Motor Company and this is his personal blog. The post I read dealt with how pictures can enhance a person’s blog.
He talked about how important pictures were and how they can compliment a post as well as provoke laughter and thought for the reader. He also suggested different sites to go on to find pictures, including Flickr. Usually when I find pictures for my blog, I use Flickr or Google Images.
Monty also talked about different websites to edit pictures including Piknik which is a popular tool on Facebook to edit and beautify pictures, mostly used by teenage girls. I’ve used Piknik for Facebook but never thought to use it for my blog too.
I thought his post was very interesting and I agree at how important pictures can be for a blog. I typically include a picture in each blog post at the beginning to let the reader know what I’m going to be talking about, or just to make the blog post a little more eye-catching.

 

4 Responses to “A picture is worth a thousand words”

  1. Katie,
    I agree with your perspective. I look at picture more than I do words because I am a very visual person. I enjoy looking through pictures on Facebook, and I also enjoy looking at pictures on a blog. I will be more willing to read a blog with pictures than one without pictures. I didn’t know about the websites that have those types of pictures. I will be sure to use them in the future for my blogs. Also, I think I will make an effort to add pictures to not only the middle, but the top of my blog that why my readers can get a visual glimpse of the topic of my entry.

  2. stethomas Says:

    I think this is a great idea! I never thought about editing the pictures I put on my blog but it could make my posts more interesting. I use pictures mainly as my “intro” so people will know what my post is about. Also if I have a really long post I use the pictures to break it up so people wont get bored.

  3. agreen134 Says:

    I really enjoyed this post and I completely agree, pictures do make blogs and websites a lot more interesting. I am more of a visual learner so whenever I am interested in something pictures or color schemes seem to make it even more interesting to me. Just recently I discovered Flickr and I have found myself returning to the site more and more each day. I do believe though if a website or blog provides clear, eye catching pictures then people are more likely to return and be more interested in the site/blog. As a pr professional it will be vitally important to keep this in mind in the future when we are creating our own professional blogs and websites. Thanks for this post, it was a good reminder to try and incorporate more pictures into my blog.

  4. […] From: A picture is worth a thousand words by: Katie’s blog […]


Leave a Reply

