Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

Social Media August 29, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3330 — rebekahkatherine @ 2:18 pm
Tags:

As a future PR practitioner and a lover of all things to do with entertainment, I have been participating in social media since I was about 14. Back in the day, I had a myspace and would probably be really embarrassed if anyone ever found it. Currently, I have a Facebook, which I love because it keeps me connected with people from high school as well as friends from college that I don’t see on a daily basis. I even use Facebook to communicate with my mother. If she has something to tell me, she sends me a message on Facebook rather than texting or calling me because she knows I’ll see the message and respond in a timely manner.
I also have a Twitter, which I’m absolutely obsessed with. Being able to keep up with my favorite actors, actresses, bands, athletes, sports teams, and even professionals working in public relations is really awesome. I also follow major news sources such as The Associated Press, the New York Times, and even my hometown newspaper which means that Twitter is how I am informed as to what is going on in the world, both at a local, national, and international level.
I also have a WordPress blog (obviously) which I created last spring for my Introduction to Public Relations class. I’ve decided to keep the same account for this class and I have grown to love blogging.
While some people may be skeptical of social media and the idea of a lack of privacy, I love it. I am able to easily control what I put out there for the world to see and I love being able to keep up with old friends, new friends, my favorite celebrities, and the events of the world. Without social media, my life would be very different and a lot more boring.

 

Leave a Reply

