Katie's Blog

Thoughts of a PR student

The Olympics!!!!!!! March 10, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 2330 — rebekahkatherine @ 5:03 pm


So I love the Olympics. I was addicted to watching the Vancouver Games last month. It was a nice break from studying and since I love sports, it gave me something to root for. My favorite sports to watch were figure skating, speed skating, snowboarding, and men’s hockey. I also like being exposed to sports I would normally never watch like downhill skiing or curling. I really love hearing the national anthem being played and seeing how many medals the US can win.
While I enjoy watching the Winter Olympics, my favorite is really the summer games. When I was 6, I actually attended some of the rowing events at Lake Lanier during the 1996 Atlanta games. As a former gymnast and someone who follows gymnastics more than just every four years, I really look forward to the gymnastics competitions. I am anxiously awaiting the London games in 2012.
As much as I enjoy the actual sporting events of the Olympics, I really like the human interest aspect of the games as well. I like to hear the stories of the athletes who overcame adversity to get to the games or to see someone finally win a medal after several tries. I also love watching the opening and closing ceremonies because it’s a great way to see that country’s culture.

 

Leave a Reply

